Patricia Briggs – Shifting Shadows

•September 22, 2014 • Leave a Comment

Short Story compilation from the Mercy Thompson world

Star Rating 2 out of 5

This is something i never thought I would do, write a poor review of Ms Briggs and a book from her Mercy Series.  But sadly I have to, no matter how much I love this series and the way the author writes I cannot lie about how I feel after reading a book.

I am not a big fan of short story collections, they feel like a bit of a cop out to me, as if the author and publisher are saying ‘here there isn’t a new book due soon so have this panacea and its going to cost as much as a regular book’.  I absolutely adore the world of Mercy Thompson so whilst normally I wouldn’t bother with a book such as this, this time I did.  And I’m glad I did but also just as disappointed as I usually am with short story compilations.

So lets look at the positive, the only positive.  Getting to read Samuel’s back story and by default Bran’s too was fantastic!  This story was as usual beautifully crafted and full of the usual character driven plot you come to expect from Ms Briggs. The story flowed and kept you engaged to the last word, and kept you wanting more.  In my honest opinion this story deserved to be fleshed out and made into a full length novel.  But alas it wasn’t but unlike many short stories it didn’t feel as if you had been short changed, so without a doubt for me this story carried the book.

And that leads neatly onto the negative.  That was the only story I felt was worth the cost of the book.  In fact a few of them I didn’t even bother to finish as they didn’t hold my interest at all.  I failed to engage with any of the characters and felt that rather than being finely honed stories from a master of her craft, they were projects done on assignment without any real passion on the part of the author.

Ben’s story annoyed me after I had finished reading it, I felt as if Ben had been short changed as well as me.  This is one of the most complex bit player characters in Mercy’s world and Ms Briggs tried to explain his psyche in a ridiculous story about sexual harassment at work.  Yes the characterisation of him was plausible and it was wonderful to get more detail on his past in England but again this could have been better served in a full length novel.  This story honestly left me feeling cross with Ms Briggs after I had read it.

As to including alpha and omega, that really did get my goat…how many times has that story been published now? that just seemed absolutely beyond the pale in taking advantage of fans.

And finally the only story about Mercy, in a series of stories from Mercy’s world, well I cant actually review it because as I’m sitting here typing it I cant actually remember what it was about. Only that it started at the ruins of her garage.  So that doesn’t really bode well as to how much it kept my attention.  I do know I finished it so maybe it wasn’t all that bad. but it clearly it made no impact on me at all.

So to sum it up this was the usual rip off to fans, that publishers are very good at when a series becomes immensely popular. However I’m still glad I got to read about the history of the Marrok and his son so it wasn’t a complete waste of my money.

Next time Ms Briggs flesh the stories out into full length or do what many other authors do and post these short stories for free on their websites.  Your fans will think a lot more of you if you do.

Hello Again

•September 22, 2014 • Leave a Comment

Its been awhile since I last posted a review, not because I haven’t been reading, far from it, but because I took a break to get my other career off the ground.  But now I’m back and will be reviewing a wider range of genres.  So watch this space for new titles and lists of upcoming books to hit the book stores soon.

 

 

Maya Banks – Sweet Seduction

•October 11, 2009 • Leave a Comment

Book Three in the Sweet Series.

Star Rating 4.5 out of 5

I can honestly say this book was a pleasure to read, it contains everything that a hot erotic romance should.  Amazing characters, amazing sex scenes and a story that drives you forward at a pace that keeps you breathless for more.

This book brings us Nathan and Julie’s story, both characters we have met in other books in the series.  The story starts with Julie having decided that she has had enough of waiting for Nathan, and gives him a send off he wont forget!

It starts out with a high octane bang and carries on to the end.  The relationship between Nathan and Julie is wonderful to watch unfold, how two strong independent characters can get things so confused is a delight to read.  Nathans perplextion is endearing whilst Julie’s independence is wonderful but at times slightly annoying when she gets too stubborn!

What I also like about this book is the continuing development of past characters relationships and how they continue to develop into deeper levels.  Every character adds an extra dimension to the book whilst at the same time not detracting from Nathan and Julie’s story…in fact just  the opposite, adding the perception of individuals able to carry on multifaceted relationships with all of those around them.  All of the characters in this book are well rounded intriguing and enjoyable individuals.

For me though the highlight of this book was Julie’s journey of self discovery, which was written so well by Ms Banks…I especially enjoyed the scene where Julie finally understands what drives Serena and truly begins to accept and understand her friend’s lifestyle and allows her a deeper understanding of herself.  Ms Banks excels at writing a story that can grip your emotions and have you laughing, crying and so hot you dont know what to do with yourself…and this is no exception!

I eagerly await Micah’s story next, sure in the knowledge that Ms Banks will once again deliver a highly erotic, incredibly sensual and enjoyable story.

  1. Sweet Surrender
  2. Sweet Persuasion
  3. Sweet Seduction
  4. Sweet Temptation (Apr 2010)

Christine Feehan – Dark Slayer

•September 20, 2009 • 2 Comments

Book 20 in the Carpathian (Dark) series

Star Rating 2 out of 5 (would have been 3 except I skipped so much of it)

I have been reading Ms Feehan for a long time now, having found her through this series andI  have come to enjoy her work but with varying degrees.  Some books I love, some are ok but I like , some I don’t.   Having said that I think I have become slightly bored with this series.  The chants and language is driving me absolutely insane.  Other than waiting for Skylar’s book I think I will end this series with this book…I will leave it on a high!

I did enjoy the story, having long awaited Ravans story and it didnt disappoint.  Ravan and Ivory were both wonderfully written characters full of angst, pain and strength of character.  Both on the fringes of civilisation, both put there by Xavier and both determined to bring him to justice…their justice.

What I liked most about this book though was the departure from the stereo type of the Carpathinan male and his mate.  Ivory is the stronger of the two, Ivory is the warrior and the one best able to defeat Xavier, Ravan is her mate and her aid together they are whole, defining neither and yet both.  And I loved that aspect of the story. 

 However as with the last few books I skipped a huge chunk of story where healing chants were done, and healing processes were explained to death, where language and translation were given time and time again.  It detracted from the story for me, and it annoyed me.

So I will step back from the series, wait for Skylars story and then bid it a fond farewell, I have enjoyed my time with it but its time for pastures new…and the Jaguar series is looking good!

Taz

  1. Dark Prince
  2. Dark Desire
  3. Dark Gold
  4. Dark Magic
  5. Dark Challenge
  6. Dark Fire
  7. Dark Dream (in Twilight anthology)
  8. Dark Legend
  9. Dark Guardian
  10. Dark Symphony
  11. Dark Descent (in The Only One antholgy )
  12. Dark Melody
  13. Dark Destiny
  14. Dark Hunger (in Hot Blooded)
  15. Dark Secret
  16. Dark Demon
  17. Dark Celebration
  18. Dark possession
  19. Dark Curse
  20. Dark Slayer
  21. Dark Peril (out in 2010)

Lorelei James – Shoulda been a cowboy

•September 19, 2009 • Leave a Comment

Book 7 in the Rough Riders Series

Star Rating 4 out of 5

I have read all of the Rough Riders books and what I love the most about the series is that each one is so different, it deals with different aspects of the erotic, from menage to BDSM to D/s to Vanilla and everything in-between.  And they are written very well, each character connecting with the others but each one an individual.  The series works well as a whole but each can be read as a stand alone.  So if your not  ‘into’ threesomes you can skip, Chassie, Trevor and Edgard’s story…although I wouldnt recommend it…as its one of my favourites and a fantastic MMF menage.

This story finally gives us Cams story, the wounded hero who returned from serving in Iraq without a leg and scars both physical and mental.  Cam is a Dom through and through, he is happy with his sexuality and isn’t willing to change, he is what he is no excuses.  Even if that means staying away from sweet Domini, the one woman he really desires.  Domini though is not what he thinks she is, she is in fact a natural submissive and the perfect complement to him. 

What I truly enjoyed about this book is that Domini isn’t portrayed as a simpering sub, she is portrayed as a strong independent woman who, because of her inner strength, is able to offer her gift of submission freely.  Cam knows he loves Domini and Domini knows she loves Cam but neither are truthful with each other and believe the other doesn’t feel the same way, that it is purely sexual.  I am sure you can imagine the problems this may cause, and I’m not going to reveal anymore due to spoilers.

This was an incredibly well written story that had me riveted, breathless, hot, romantic and tender all at once.  I have long wanted Cams story and it didn’t disappoint in any way.  The sex scenes were incredibly hot and steamy and yet so moving at times…especially when Cam finally lets Domini see his leg stump.  I loved Cams jealousy during and after the threesome with his best friend…the fact that he was giving the woman he loved and who gave her submission freely, something that she wanted to experience…it is D/s at its best.  A Dominant truly caring for the needs, wants and desires of his submissive.

Both Cam and Domini were complex characters that drew you into them, leaving you wanting them to see the truth and truly find each other.  And the support cast were, as always wonderful, it really is great to meet old friends from past books and see how they are doing.  And the mischief they still get up to, along with Cam and Domini.

If you like D/s or just a good old, plain erotic love story then this is one that I am sure you will enjoy!

I eagerly await the next installment in this wonderful series of interlocking family and friends.  Some with kink and some just hot vanilla sex but all with a great story to tell.

I should just mention as this is a samhain publication it comes out in ebook first and then in paperback a year later, so the paper backs are only up to Rough, Raw and Ready. 

Tazallie

  1. Rode Hard, Put Up Wet
  2. Tied Up, Tied Down
  3. Long Hard Ride
  4. Cowgirl Up and Ride
  5. Rough, Raw and Ready
  6. Branded as Trouble
  7. Shouda Been a Cowboy

September 2009 New Release List

•September 4, 2009 • Leave a Comment

Well Autumn is on its way, the kids are all back and school which means that officially Christmas is only round the corner…now aren’t you glad I reminded you!

Well August was a fantastic month for books out, and September isn’t looking to shabby either, which is good because when its windy outside we should all stay indoors nice and warm with a good book and a cup of tea!  Except I don’t drink tea, so mines a coffee.

  • Songbird – Maya Banks – 1st September
  • Barely Bewitched – Kimberly Frost – 1st September
  • Storm of Shadows – Christina Dodd – 1st September
  • Dark Slayer – Christine Feehan – 1st Septmeber
  • Big Bad Wolf – Christine Warren – 29th September
  • Unhallowed Ground – Heather Graham 29th September
  • Covet – J R Ward – 29th September
  • Frostbitten – Kelley Armstrong – 29th September
  • Blood Bargain – Maria Lima – 29th September

Enjoy

Tazallie

Review: Jayne Castle – Obsidian Prey

•August 30, 2009 • Leave a Comment

Book six in the dust bunny oops sorry Harmony Series!

Star Rating 3 out of 5

Dust bunny rating…off the chart!

I am very sorry but I have to do this, I cannot write the review until I have got this out of my system! 

DUST BUNNIES! There is a dust bunny in the book, I love dust bunnies, I want a dust bunny, I want a book that is just about dust bunnies, and Ms Castle is cruel by not letting us play longer at the dust bunny party! 

Ok that’s out of my system, I am calm now, I can now hopefully write a sensible review.  Obsidian Prey once again returns us to Harmony a world that once was connected to earth and colonised by humans, but two hundred years ago was separated.  The humans trapped adapted and utilised what was available to them, and have evolved slightly with an ability to harmonise with amber psychically.

Although this is part of a series this book is very much a stand alone, and the world is described clearly with enough detail to capture the attention of a new reader but without too much to bore a seasoned fan of dust bunnies, sorry the series.  And that is an incredibly fine balance that Ms Castle has achieved very well.

In this book we meet Lyra, an amber tuner and part time prospector three months after she has ended her relationship with Cruz the CEO of AI, who stole her new amber claim out from under her.

This was a wonderful book of a strong no nonsense, slightly cynical woman who meets an alpha male who believes heavily in true love…and knows she is his, whatever she says!  Its a great twist on the usual romance as Lyra breaks Cruz’s heart…just ask his family!

This was a witty, intelligent battle of wills with an adorable killer dust bunny, that moves along at pace fast enough to keep you hooked but not so fast as you get confused.  The plot twists and turns and the romance heats up.  All in all this is a wonderful book even without the wonderful dust bunnies in it and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend anyone to read it.

And again I aplogise for the dust bunny mania that has gripped me ever since they first made an apperance…I have considered getting help but I love them too much to even consider it!

Go get the book, enjoy the story and understand my addiction to Jayne Castle books.

Tazallie

  1. After Dark
  2. After Glow
  3. Ghost Hunter
  4. Silver Master
  5. Dark Light
  6. Obsidian Prey
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.