Kay Hooper – If there be Dragons

Re-released from 1984

When I think of Kay Hooper stories I invariably think of her Bishop series of books, romantic suspense’s with a touch of the paranormal.  However, whilst holding a very small touch of the psychic abilities I have come to expect from Kay Hooper characters, it was in no way a suspense, it was pure romantic fiction.  Which I suspose I shouldn’t have really been surprised at, as that’s where she began her career!

That’s not to say it wasn’t good, it was a very well written romance, with a hero that for once wasn’t a go get him Alpha but a man steeped in patience and sensitivity who was willing to wait for the woman he loved to accept and trust him.  I have to say I was a little confused as to the role and point to phantom, the wild wolf they rescued, but he was a sweet addition to the story, so I will ignore that he was largely pointless.  I did however love the chats that Brooke had with her dream dragon/prince, and the sparring between Brooke and Cody was great to read, you could almost see them bandying words back and forth like the ball at a tennis match.

If like me you are expecting a romantic suspense then you may be sadly disappointed, however if your looking for a purely romantic read then this one is worth a go.

~ by Tazallie on September 13, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
