Katie MacAlister- Up In Smoke

Book 2 Silver Dragon Series

I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  OK Review over!

Seriously, I really did enjoy this book.  I first found Katie MacAlister when I read her Aisling Grey series, and the Silver Dragon’s are a direct spin off from the Aisling Grey books and are just as funny, sexy and fast moving.

Gabriel is the wyvern (leader) of the silver dragon Sept and his mate Mayling is a doppelganger, but more than that she is also the consort of the demon prince Magoth.  As if that isn’t enough for May, she is going to get a new title to add to what she is! (not telling as its a spoiler!)  To make things even better in this book a very pregnant Aisling makes a strong appearance, along with a very protective Drake and a wonderfully irreverent Jim, the demon Newfoundland.

This book is a great example of a well written world that moves forward at a fast pace, with witty humour and nicely rounded out characters. It isn’t a simple world, in fact it is very complicated, with Dragons, Others, the demon heirarchy of Abbadon(hell), Guardians and all sorts of other mystical creatures, but it is written in such a way as to be very easy to follow and understand.  To be honest I don’t know if it would be as easy to follow if you picked this book up having not read any of the others (I have read the two series’s since the first) but it really is a great world to read.  It is very clear that Ms MacAlister has done a lot of research for these books and has allowed her characters to grow naturally.

What I really love about these books is that the characters are believable and well written, allowing you to really engage with them and care about what happens to them.  Making for a story that moves forward at a rapid pace (too rapidly as I read them far to fast and then hate it when I’m finished!)  And as usual when Ms MacAlister finishes a book there is a cliff hanger that has you chomping at the bit for the next book!


Silver Dragon Books

  1. Playing With Fire
  2. Up In Smoke

Aisling Grey books

  1. You Slay Me
  2. Fire Me Up
  3. Light My Fire
  4. Holy Smokes

~ by Tazallie on October 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: