I don’t normally like guides to, for me they usually take away some of the magic and so I avoid them.  But I have followed some of J R Wards interviews and short stories on her web site and so couldn’t resist taking a peek at this book. 

And I have to say that the peek turned into a really enjoyable read.  This book was a well crafted piece of work, it combined short stories with character interviews and deleted scenes but what I also liked was that Ms Ward wrote honestly about her experiences writing the series.  Add to that the realistic and helpful advice she gives to budding writers and this is a must read, not just for fans of the Brotherhood but also for anyone who is writing, planning to write, to one day would like to write, in this genre.

The interviews and character discussions followed the same style that Ms Ward uses in her books, attitude with humour and a large does of sexy.  The characters all stay true to themselves and Ms Ward allows us to briefly revisit out favourite characters in a fun way, I have to say it makes me want to go back and re read the whole series! (So If I don’t post a new review for awhile you know who to blame!) But whatever you do don’t miss the section called the Brotherhood on the boards, as it really was a funny look at the brothers!


  1. Dark Lover
  2. Lover Eternal
  3. Lover Awakened
  4. Lover Revealed
  5. Lover Unbound
  6. Lover Enshrined
  7. The Black Dagger Brotherhood an insiders guide

~ by Tazallie on October 11, 2008.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: