Karen Chance – Midnight’s Daughter

I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy this book, as I haven’t been able to get into any of Ms Chance’s other series about Cassandra Palmer.  But the blurb on the back sounded pretty good so I gave it a go and was pleased to say that I really enjoyed the story, and am looking forward to the next book in the series.

Dorina Basarab (Dory) is the daughter of a human mother and vampire father making her a dhampir and an outcast in both worlds.  But she is also rather unique in that she is 500 years old and most dhampirs go stark raving mad and die very young, or are killed by their families (both vampire and human).  Dory isn’t without her problems, she has a slight tendency to embark on killing sprees that she remembers nothing about, which has caused her a few problems over the years add to that she is just slightly crazy.  But her most pressing problem at the moment is that her best friend Claire is missing.

Her father Mircea (whom she has a rather strained relationship with) calls on her to help him recapture her uncle Vlad (who is the Bram Stoker Dracula, and a complete sociopath), and uses her missing friend as leverage to get her to do what her wants.  For this she is teamed reluctantly with Louis-Cesare, her uncle Radu’s ‘get’ (meaning he turned him).  This isn’t really a paranormal romance, although their is an element of romance in the book between Dory and Louis-Cesare, its an urban fantasy, a book about Dory, her life and the battle to save her friend Claire and defeat Vlad. 

There isn’t really anything new in this book to the paranormal/urban fantasy genre.  We have met dhampirs before and Dory is your typical genre heroine (attitude, messed up, few friends and dysfunctional family) but it is still a great read. But what I really liked is the way that Ms Chance has woven fantasy with fact.  She has taken the real basis for Bram stokers Dracula (Vlad the impaler) and used his real family as the basis for Dory’s family (Mircea and Radu really were the brothers to Vlad the impaler).

The book is fast paced and action packed, with lots of world building and fact giving, but all in a way that allows the reader to not only follow and understand but to really engage with and care about the characters.  There is also a really good dose of humor added in to keep the reader moving. 

I know that Mircea is a strong character from Ms Chance’s Cassandra Palmer books and I have a feeling that at some point I am going to have to try those books again, but for now I will eagerly await the next book in what promises to be an enjoyable series.

Tazallie

Cassandra Palmer books

  1. Touch The Dark
  2. Claimed By Shadow
  3. Embrace The Night
  4. Curse the Dawn (April 2009)

Dorina Basarab Books

  1. Midnight’s Daughter
~ by Tazallie on October 12, 2008.

One Response to “Karen Chance – Midnight’s Daughter”

  1. I love Karen Chance’s work. I found the Cassie Palmer series thoroughly enjoyable and now I find myself having the same affection for Midnight’s Daughter. I’m only halfway through the book as yet but it has me hooked. I guess because I’m fan of her previous books, and the short story in “On the Prowl” which featured Claire, I feel like I’m continuing my journey of discovery of these characters and their lives. Dory is an excellent addition to kick-ass heroines and I hope her book is the first in a series.

Leave a Reply

 
