J R Ward – Lover Avenged

Book 7 in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series.

What a book, what a fantastic book…

This is a series I didn’t actually find until about book 5 came out and then only on a customers recommendation.  I then spent time devouring all the books in the series, including the insiders guide (which is well worth a read). 

The series centres around the brotherhood, a group of male vampires who protect the rest of the vampire population from the lessers, people who were once human but have lost their soul to the omega.

Each book tells the story of a different brother, this one was slightly different in that Rehvenge isn’t actually a brother but is the brother-in-law to one.  His character on the surface has few redeeming qualities as he’s a drug dealing, nightclub owning pimp but he has however always had a strong role in the series so it only seems right he has his story.

Rehvenge is half symapth half vampire (sympaths are a breed of sociopaths that the vampires have exiled to an isolated colony) if his sympath blood is ever discovered then he will automatically deported and his family shunned, something he will do anything to avoid, including prostituting himself to his half sister who is a full sympath.

This story tugged at my heart so many times that at times I dreaded reading it in public in case I cried again. We see a side to Rehvenge that has only been hinted at before and I am not ashamed to say my heart broke for him and the way he tried to protect everyone who he loves and cares for.

But this book wasn’t just his and Ehlena’s it was also about Xhex & John, Wrath and Thorment.  Each one trying to deal with things that tore at my heart strings.  These are all such strong powerful characters made even stronger for the fact that they hurt.

Ms Ward should rightly be proud of her work, the characters are incredibly written, with strong emotions and deep meaning.  It would have been very easy to let these characters be stereo typical bad boys and girls, instead Ms Ward has written characters that are complex and very believable.  I can’t say I have loved all the books in this series because I haven’t, but this one outdid itself with its depth of writing and its portrayal of its characters strength and weaknesses.  I especially loved the way Ms Ward showed that what may be perceived as a weakness may in fact be a strength and visa versa.

I wouldn’t try reading this book unless you have read the others, there is little world building as it has been established before in the other books.  Ms Ward rightly doesn’t waste time on what we already know but instead knocks the reader off their feet with what we learn about the characters.  This book is very much character driven, not with speed but with care.  The corners are tight and make your stomach churn and you cant see over the next hill, but you know your gonna land with a bang, but its well worth it to get to the destination at the end.  But a word of warning its only a pit stop because she leaves us with a cliff hanger that makes me want to strangle her…and the next book had better be about …(sorry not gonna spoil the cliff hanger).

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this book to anyone, and I thank my customer for recommending the series to me.

Tazallie

  1. Dark Lover
  2. Lover Eternal
  3. Lover Awakened
  4. Lover Revealed
  5. Lover Unbound
  6. Lover Enshrined
  7. Lover Avenged
~ by Tazallie on May 3, 2009.

2 Responses to “J R Ward – Lover Avenged”

  1. Hi, interesting post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for posting. I will certainly be coming back to your site.

  2. Hi, nice post. I have been pondering this issue,so thanks for posting. I’ll definitely be subscribing to your posts.

Leave a Reply

 
