Charlaine Harris – Dead and Gone

Charlaine Harris - Dead and Gone

Book 9 in the Sookie Stackhouse Series

The first time I came across this author was at a book remainders fair, I was new to the book selling industry and had gone with my sister (and boss) to have a look and find some new suppliers.  The first two books in this series was on display on one of the tables.  We ordered them and as soon as they came in I confiscated them (luckily we had three copies of each).  I have read each one with the same enjoyment as those first two, way back when.

In this book Sookie has to deal with a faerie war, her feelings for Eric (who she finds herself  ‘bonded’ to, her sister-in-laws death and the revealing to the world of the were’s.  Just another week in the crazy world of Sookie.

However I cannot say that this  book was as enjoyable as the others have been, and that some of the character development felt well… wrong.  The story was overall good but the first part of the book just felt not finished almost.  The characters rushed in, almost on cameo then rushed back out leaving me with a sense of confusion.  I am struggling to put my finger on what was really wrong with the book but it just didn’t feel right to me.  I cant help wondering if there are just too many characters to fit in the book, and too many past actions being explained again, resulting in no one really getting any meaningful page time.

An example of this is the sudden appearance of Quinn and his equally sudden disappearance.  The Quinn of old wouldn’t have just left without the answers he had come to find, especially as Sookie was injured, even if Bill did beat him up.

What I did love though was the introspection of Sookie towards the end, and the way that she couldn’t deal with everything all the while, it made her so much more human.  I especially enjoyed the realisation from Sookie that she will never be the same again.  With everything she has gone through I would hate it if she remained unchanged.  It was also a pleasant change from some books in this genre in that the violence wasn’t graphic, but instead left to the readers imagination, and believe me I have a scary imagination!  The ending of this book was without a doubt its redeeming quality, it was very well written, and left me wanting to know that Sookie will be OK, well, as OK as Sookie ever will be.

I did enjoy this book, but it isn’t on any top lists of mine, but on the other hand it hasn’t spoilt my enjoyment of the series, so its still worth reading, just don’t expect too much from it!


Sookie Stackhouse Series

  1. Dead Until Dark
  2. Living Dead in Dallas
  3. Club Dead
  4. Dead to the World
  5. Dead as a Doornail
  6. Definitely Dead
  7. All Together Dead
  8. From Dead to Worse
  9. Dead and Gone
  10. Cruel and Unusual (November 2009)

~ by Tazallie on May 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: